Primary Investigator

Dr. Bruce Vallance

Dr. Vallance completed his PhD training in Gastrointestinal Inflammation at McMaster University's Intestinal Disease Research Program under the supervision of Dr. Stephen Collins and then pursued studies on disease causing bacteria at the University of British Columbia's Michael Smith Laboratories with Dr. Brett Finlay. Dr. Vallance is well recognized for his expertise in the study and modeling of IBD and enteric bacterial infections and was named the CHILD Foundation research Scholar in 2003, the Canada Research Chair in Pediatric Gastroenterology and a Michael Smith Research Scholar in 2004. Dr. Vallance was also named the Canadian Association of Gastroenterology's Young Investigator in 2007. He has authored more than 65 peer reviewed manuscripts, over 70 abstracts and 5 book chapters addressing the mechanisms underlying Inflammatory Bowel Diseases as well as bacterial and parasitic infectious diseases of the gastrointestinal tract. Dr. Vallance is always interested in hearing from highly motivated trainees who are interested in pursuing research projects under his supervision.


  • 2008 Included in Canadian Who's Who List for 2009
  • 2007 Named Canadian Association of Gastroenterology (CAG) Young Investigator
  • 2004 Named a Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research (MSFHR) Scholar
  • 2004 Awarded the Canada Research Chair in Pediatric Gastroenterology (Tier II Chair)
  • 2003 Named the CH.I.L.D. Foundation Research Scholar
  • 2000 Canadian Digestive Disease Foundation/Medical Research Council Fellowship
  • 2000 Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Postdoctoral Fellowship


Ms. Caixia Ma
Ms. Caixia Ma

Caixia is the senior technician in the laboratory and shares her expertise in microbial gene cloning, animal modeling, qPCR and epithelial barrier studies with other members of the laboratory.

Ms. Tina Huang
Ms. Tina Huang

Tina is the immunofluorescence expert in our group and helps maintain the laboratory stocks of reagents and other supplies.



Research Associate

Dr. Hongbing Yu


Postdoctoral Fellows

Dr. Vijay Morampudi

Dr. Martin Stahl

Dr. Hyungjun Yang

Dr. Natasha Ryz

Dr. Joannie Allaire


PhD Researchers

Ganive Bhinder

Kirandeep Bhullar

Shauna Crowley

Else Bosman

Franziska Gräf



Dr. Deanna Gibson

Dr. Mohammed Khan

Dr. Lisa Mannson

Dr. Marinieve Montero

Dr. Kirk Bergstrom

Dr. Andy Sham

Justin Chan